Thursday, February 7, 2008

OWU Remembers 1988 Men's Basketball National Championship

On Saturday, Ohio Wesleyan will celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Battling Bishops’ men's basketball national championship.

Festivities begin with the annual Ohio Wesleyan alumni game at 1 p.m. Typically an alumni-versus-junior varsity event, this year’s match-up could become an alumni-versus-alumni game, given the higher-than-normal level of alumni participants anticipated.

The Ohio Wesleyan-Hiram varsity game follows at 3 p.m., and at halftime of that game, the members of the 1988 championship team in attendance will be recognized. Three of the starters from that team, Scott Tedder ’88, Lee Rowlinson ’88, and Casey Lee ’88, as well as head coach Gene Mehaffey, are scheduled to attend. Also scheduled to attend are Dirk Miller '91, Dave Parker ’89, Marc Sherwood ’90, and Dale Eilrich ’91.

After the varsity game, there will be a reception in the Benes rooms of the Hamilton-Williams Campus Center. The cost for the reception is $15, and reservations can be made online here.

No comments: