Thursday, June 14, 2007


Welcome to the NCAC blog!

We are a 10-member NCAA Division III conference which sponsors 22 sports for our 10 members: Allegheny, Denison, Earlham, Hiram, Kenyon, Oberlin, Ohio Wesleyan, Wabash, Wittenberg and Wooster.

Founded in 1983, the NCAC believes that high-level athletic programs need not be sacrificed in order to meet rigid academic standards.

The NCAC brings together a group of institutions which share a common allegiance to academic quality and to the conduct of athletics so as to support the educational purpose. Intercollegiate athletics can and should complement academic life, rather than compete with it, and sports should enhance the experience of students during their college years. This type of academic and athletic commitment has been led by the 10 school presidents, who have taken an active role in the governance of the conference.

The NCAC's commitment to equity, its broad base of athletic programs, and an unwavering insistence on excellence in academics has served as a model for conferences throughout the country. The North Coast has shown not only that these ideals can coexist, but that they can flourish. The NCAC continues as a pace-setter in the 21st century.

We are excited to be launching this blog to share with you all of the exciting things going on in and around the Conference.

No comments: