Tuesday, June 26, 2007

Postgraduate Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the latest NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship honoree from the NCAC - Sheldon Steiner, a baseball player from Wooster!

Overall, seven student-athletes from NCAC schools earned the prestigious honor over the 2006-07 academic year. In addition to Sheldon, the recipients were:

Elaine Binkley, Denison (cross country)
Anne Young, Denison (women's soccer)
Ben Chojnacki, Ohio Wesleyan (men's basketball)
Josh Warren, Ohio Wesleyan (men's soccer)
Patrick Millikan, Wabash (football)
John Drushal, Wooster (football)

Having just completed its 23rd season of competition, the Conference has seen 115 scholarships go to student-athletes from nine schools in 16 different sports. Overall, Kenyon entered the 2006-07 academic year second in all Division III institutions with 50 honorees since the inception of the NCAA program in 1965, followed by Denison (40-now 42) in third. Wabash (14-now 15) entered the season in a tie for 24th, while Allegheny (10) sits in a tie for 42nd.

The NCAA annually awards 174 postgraduate scholarships, 87 for men, 87 for women, in the amount of $7,500 to student-athletes who have excelled academically and athletically and are in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition.

Each sports season (fall, winter and spring), there are 29 scholarships available for men and 29 scholarships available for women. The scholarships are one-time, non-renewable grants. Nominees must maintain at least a 3.200 grade-point average and perform with distinction in varsity competition. The student-athlete must also intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a part-time or full-time graduate student.

No comments: